Business
Jobs
  • About Us
  • Solutions
    • Job Postings
      Post your job and receive qualified candidates in 48h.
    • Candidate Assessments
      500+ technical and psychological tests, plus anti-fraud.
    • Headhunting
      Tailor-made executive search from start to finish.
    • Payroll + EOR
      Payroll dispersal and EOR across 15+ LATAM countries.
  • Pricing
  • Jobs

0

159
Views
How To Create a 'Host' folder and Prevent It From Being Deleted In Mac OSX

case 1: How to make a host 'folder' prevent from being deleted, even if deleted it should ask password but still can read & write inside of it without password

Case 2: How to make a host 'folder' prevent from being deleted but this time the only way to deleting the 'host folder' is only with superuser do / sudo with ( terminal ) but still can read & write inside of it without password

Case 3: Please tell me how to undo for both questions above

I want to make Folder like E.g : Folder Downloads,Movies, Picture, etc. They can't be deleted but inside it's folder can be deleted easily

over 4 years ago · Santiago Trujillo
1 answers
Answer question

0

I have a solution for the first case(may not be conventional).

Create a folder wherever. Then create another folder inside the first one(for explaining purposes I shall call them f1 and f2). f2 will have all the files and folders you wish to be able to delete (and i recommend dragging it to your favourites tab in finder for ease of use).

Right click (or control+click) the folder f1 and click "Get Info". In the window that opens up under the "Sharing and Permissions:" section navigate to your username and take away the privilege of "Read & Write" and make it "Read only". This will make it so you cant delete folder f1 and f2 without entering your password but you can with your password and you can also read and write anything inside folder f2 without having to enter you password every time.

As for when you wish to undo this its as simple as simply right-clicking folder f1, clicking "Get Info" and giving yourself the permission to read and write again.

Edit : You could also lock the folder f1 instead of manually taking away as it essentially does the same thing(look for the text "Locked" with a box next to it)

over 4 years ago · Santiago Trujillo Report
Answer question
Find remote jobs

Discover the new way to find a job!

Top jobs
Top job categories
Business
Post vacancy Pricing Sales
Legal
Terms and conditions Privacy policy
© 2026 PeakU Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Andres GPT
Show me some job opportunities
There's an error!